We all know that driving and drinking don’t mix and this is especially true in Angleton, TX. Yet, unfortunately, too many of us, only have a few social drinks. It’s time to go home and we feel fine. Sure, we’ve been drinking a bit more than we should, but we’ll just drive carefully. No problem.
Sadly, after a few drinks, it’s only too easy to forget how impaired we are. Reflexes slow down, vision isn’t quite what it should be. We’re likely to be more impatient with other drivers than we normally would. The Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates has represented many good people who were accused of drunk driving offenses in Angleton, TX and are staffed by top DWI lawyers.
Okay, maybe we make it home safely. Great. But we don’t always make it home safely. Not so great. We may not have an accident, but we can still get pulled over for weaving a bit too much; tailgating, and we might even miss a red light.
In the State of Texas, someone is killed or at least injured in an alcohol-related automobile crash every 20 minutes. That’s three per hour!
What Happens if I Get a DWI in Angleton?
In the State of Texas, having a blood-alcohol level of 0.08 or higher means driving while intoxicated. It doesn’t take long for a person to reach that level of intoxication. The matter grows even more severe when an impaired driver has a child in the vehicle.
Just last year nearly a thousand people lost their lives in such incidents. Austin is high on the list with 1,432 alcohol-related accidents last year.
Even if a driver is not injured and has injured no one, he or she can suffer a pain that will be difficult to put aside. Judges are required to order ignition interlocks on repeat offenders or even first-time offenders with a blood-alcohol result of 0.15 or higher.
Criminal Penalties for Texas DWI Cases
Even a first offense could cause you to be handed down a sentence of up to 6 months. In addition, you could be fined $2,000, and have your license suspended for as long as a full year.
Even having an open container in the State of Texas is considered a Class C offense. This is similar to a speeding ticket. You could be fined $200 just for that. A lawyer may be able to help there.
The penalties for second and third offenses are something you don’t even want to think about. And another important fact to remember, even if you had a DWI 20 years or so ago, a DWI today will count as a second offense. The State of Texas has a long memory. And don’t forget the ignition interlock device mentioned earlier.
Want to be a Hardball Driver?
Perhaps you’ve reached the point where you’re so impaired that you decide not to cooperate. You may get tough and refuse to take a chemical test. Okay. Unfortunately for you, that can cost you a six-month suspension of your license for the first offense. A second and third offense means a two-year suspension of your driver’s license.
Why You Need a Angleton DWI Lawyer
On one day in court that stands out in our memory, a woman had been charged with a DWI while driving recklessly through busy city streets with a small child in the car. You’d think that would bring a hefty sentence, but her attorney explained her marital difficulties, and other mitigating circumstances and the DWI was reduced to what is known as a “wet reckless” offense and she walked with a small fine.
Immediately following her, a young man stood accused of reckless driving while under the influence of drugs and alcohol. But his attorney explained that this young man had just served two tours of duty in Afghanistan and was having trouble adjusting to civilian life again here in the United States. When the man’s attorney had finished even the judge was moved and dismissed the case with a warning that the young man was back in the States now and had to bear that in mind.
Right after this case, another young man stood accused of intoxication and resisting arrest. He was given the choice of a fine or jail time. Having no representation, the young man pleaded that he had a wife and small children. He wanted to pay the fine in installments. The judge snorted and told the young man he should have thought of that before he got drunk. He went straight to jail.
No matter how minor or how severe the charge against you, any appearance before a judge requires a lawyer. Your lawyer is your friend and advocate and the judge will listen to him or her. In a jury trial, this is even more important.
Remember, the fee you pay for an attorney for your defense will be well offset by the price you’ll pay without one.
If you have any impending court appearances, now is the time to call Attorney Tad Nelson at 979-267-6069. hg